Prof Gyampo Explains Why Kan-Dapaah Was Axed From New Cabinet List

Political Science lecturer at the University of Ghana, Prof. Ransford Gyampo has explained why the Minister of National Security was not named in President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo’s new cabinet.
The security capo, Albert Kan-Dapaah was missed in the 19-member cabinet team despite his position being a sensitive role in the country.
The President’s statement to announce his cabinet did not explain why Mr Kan-Dapaah was left out – but Prof. Ransford Gyampo has explained why.
He said, “I was worried when I didn’t find his name in the list” – but “cross-checking, the National Security Minister has never been a cabinet member but attend cabinet meetings.”
He explained that, “Previously, there was no ministry for National Security, we had national security Adviser to the President until this current President set up a whole ministry for it.”
“Even though he is not part of the cabinet, he is always available for cabinet meetings,” he told NEAT FM’s morning show ‘Ghana Montie’.
President Nana Akufo-Addo released a list of his cabinet members for his second term in accordance with Article 76 (1) of the 1992 Constitution.
They include:
Mr Ken Ofori-Atta – Minister of Finance
Mr Alan Kwadwo Kyerematen – Minister of Trade and Industry
Mr Dominic Nitiwul – Minister of Defence
Mr Ambrose Dery – Minister for the Interior
Ms Shirley Ayorkor Botchwey – Minister of Foreign Affairs and Regional Integration
Mr Godfred Yeboah Dame – Attorney General and Minister of Justice
Dr Owusu Afriyie Akoto – Minister of Food and Agriculture
Dr Mathew Opoku Prempeh – Minister of Energy
Dr Yaw Osei Adutwum – Minister of Education
Mr Kwaku Agyeman Manu – Minister of Health
Mr Osei Kyei-Mensah-Bonsu – Minister of Parlamentary Affairs
Mr Dan Botwe – Minister of Local Government, Decentralisation and Rural Development
Mr Samuel Abdulai Jinapor – Minister of Lands and Natural Resources
Ms Cecilia Abena Dapaah – Minister of Sanitation and Water Resources
Mr John-Peter Amewu – Minister of Railways Development
Mr Ignatius Baffour Awuah – Minister of Employment and Labour Relations
Ms Mavis Hawa Koomsn – Minister of Fisheries and Aquaculture Development
Mr Ibrahim Awal Mohammed – Minister of Tourism, Arts and Culture
Mr Francis Asenso-Boakye – Minister of Works and Housing  

The President, per the 1992 Constitution, can constitute a cabinet of not less than 10 and not more than 19 ministers and also appoint a Secretary.

The President and the Vice-president are also part of the cabinet which by law the President will chair the cabinet meeting
The vice-president takes up that responsibility in the president’s absence.